17
Jun
10

Going Places

As a college graduate, I am looking to begin a new chapter in life.

To add some excitement to this chapter, I think it would be supreme if I were to get a drivers license!

I am not a driver.  I have never been a driver.

But, hopefully starting next week, I will work on changing that.

There has always been a battle between myself and motor vehicles but I’m determined to come out a champ.

It may not get too far this time around because you teacher matters.  It’s a very important to have a calm instructor.  Especially when you have the history I have when it comes to cars.

Wish me luck and check back next week for my driving update.

Until next time…


-Samantha

5 Responses to “Going Places”


  1. June 18, 2010 at 2:08 am

    Heya 🙂

    My girlfriend and her sisters were all pretty slow to hit the road… so was I initially. Its a freekin dangerous place, so if you don’t wanna be out there… fair enought!

    But if you’ve decided its time to Hit the Road… it’s like you say – a calm instructor rules… and after all – the instructor is your employee.

    Are you a very anxious person on the road? Maybe some mind-focusing exercises would help you overcome the fear and win the fight? Highway kung-fu right?

    Good luck!

    Tim

  2. 2 Rachel-Kitsune
    June 18, 2010 at 4:31 am

    I like the title of this post, “going places”, nice! I should follow your lead and make myself more moblile too. Just remember, it’s more afraid of you than you are of it… oh wait, that only works with rodents and stuff…n/m

  3. June 18, 2010 at 3:52 pm

    Rachel, Yes perhaps you should give it a go as well. You did mention how it would make life in portland much easier. hehe.

    Tim, It is dangerous! I’m not too anxious. I’m very internal. But that could also be bad. But I tell myself that there are people with lower IQ’s then myself and there is no reason that I’m not out there. My problem is, I can’t control those people’s driving.

  4. June 18, 2010 at 3:57 pm

    ah yes…. I feel much the same.

    How are your reaction times?

    I was dropping a friend off at the airport just the other day, and a taxi (cab) pulled out right in front of me without looking. I was going pretty quick so I had to swing right round him. Still… my reactions are good, and my judgment is pretty good. It takes years of experience, and being a passenger with really good drivers definitely rubs off. My Dad and my brother are both slightly agressive drivers, but they have excellent judgment and great skill and road awareness, and it really rubs off.

    My girlfriend has been saying how much she’s learned to drive better after being a passenger with me, and occasionally with dad. (Although dad is scary! he gets a bit too fired up sometimes).

    Still… I’d rather die of car than couch. I’ve been on the couch too much this week!!

    Good luck!!! 😀

    • June 18, 2010 at 4:43 pm

      I like to think I have pretty good reflexes.

      I doubt I’d be an aggressive driver. Maybe in about 10 years. LMAO

      My mother is an aggressive driver, but she is a GREAT driver. She is a bit of a daredevil but is always aware of what’s around her. So maybe her skills will rub off on me. hehe

      Besides my mother, I’m mostly in the car with people who don’t really understand that I am uncomfortable and they think it’s funny to slam on the breaks for no reason or something. Very unpleasant!

      I really want my mother to teach me, but we don’t live in the same city.

      Thanks for the luck! Something tells me I’m going to need it! LOL


Leave a Reply

