30
Jun
10

Teyana Taylor-Natural Hair Inspiration!

Check that big hair!

So, unknown to many, I have natural hair!

I’ve been natural for just over a year!  YAY!!!!!

My hair is growing.  I suffered a set back and had to get what felt like a second “big chop.”

When I did my fist BC, back in May of 2009, I went to a natural salon in Kansas City, MO because I wanted it to be done right!
I didn’t want to chance starting my life into “naturalism”  on the wrong foot.  But, little did I know, the lady who cut my hair was both in a rush, and apparently new to the fact that black women have multiple textures in their hair because some sections were WAY shorter then others.  Hard to tell right off because curls are looser in some places.

I realized this later that day but was too afraid to go get it cut again because.. well, I just wasn’t ready.  lol.

When I finally got my hair cut in March, (two months before my 1 year) I had to say goodbye to maybe 3 inches to even it all out.  Where before my hair was long enough to pull back into a ponytail, after the second chop, there was no chance.

I am proud to report that now… upon the beginning of July, my hair is long enough to slide back into a ponytail.  (And thats without gel to slick it back.)

Anyway… I just wanted to post a picture of a hair inspiration.  Teyana Taylor.  I LOVE her big hair!  Her hair may be a bit longer then I’m aiming for but AWESOME nonetheless.  Here’s a shot of her epic coif!

That is all!

7 Responses to “Teyana Taylor-Natural Hair Inspiration!”


  1. 1 kitsunefirepaws
    July 1, 2010 at 6:50 am

    You should post a pic of your hair too, Sam 🙂
    Here’s a pic of someone else’s awesome natural hair: http://charcoal-ink.com/2010/06/30/hot-natural-hair-solange-knowles/

  2. July 23, 2010 at 2:33 am

    I’m just starting the transition. I’m excited about it all. I think I’m going to wait a little while on the BC! Would love to see a picture of your hair now!

    • July 27, 2010 at 12:18 am

      I will post a picture!! I should post my hair story too. LOL.

      I waited 11 months! Now that I look back on it, I wish I had just cut it off! I would have saved a lot of hair. LOL. When I went to the natural salon to get my BC she cut it all uneven. But the BC was such a shock for me, I didn’t want to cut it again. I ended up getting what seemed to be a second BC in March of this year.

      That, and I don’t think I transitioned that well. I totally suggest gluing yourself to youtube. A lot of the girls there have GREAT advice and tutorials. I posted a few videos, but no tutorials. Check back later this week for pictures of my hair. 🙂

  3. August 6, 2010 at 11:55 pm

    Your hair is absolutely beautiful! See, I can’t wait to get to that stage. It seems like it will take forever…but you are right there are tons of girls on youtube that are doing and have done it already and everyone does it different. It helps to see techniques and get suggestions.

    So far the transition has been good, granted I’m only 2 weeks into it! I told myself I would revisit the thought of BC’n in three months (so October). Anyways, thanks for sharing…I will be back to visit 🙂

    • August 7, 2010 at 1:38 am

      🙂 Thank you!

      And I can’t wait to get to the Teyana Taylor stage. I set small goals for myself though. LOL. I will be happy if my hair gets to the point where I can pull my curly hair back into a ponytail. I can do it while it’s straightened, but I only get my hair straightened every six months to get my ends trimmed. LOL.

      Are you going to document your transition? I wish I had.

    • August 7, 2010 at 1:41 am

      haha.. nix that question at the end there. I just went to your page and remember being there. 😛 I am gonna keep up with your transition. I’m glad you’re following that. I really wish I had. I think if I had, I would have done a better job. I did what I consider a very BAD transition.

      • August 7, 2010 at 8:47 pm

        Thanks so much! It keeps me inspired! And I ❤ finding other bloggers like you who have already been there and the hair looks fab! So encouraging 🙂


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

Samantha’s Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Rachel’s Tweets

counter for wordpress


