30
Jul
10

So I said I’d talk about my Natural Hair.

I’m a bit late on that, but I’m gonna make it happen now.

I’ve been a natural girl for just over a year now.  It’s funny because, I have this goal, but it seems to be taking forever!!!  lol.  I’m so impatient, but after my last photo shoot, I feel able to see the growth and that makes me happy.  If your a natural girl or transitioning to becoming a natural girl, you already know all the lingo but some may not… Here goes my hair story.  LOL

21 years old. 3 years before the transition. Obviously not healthy hair.

I had my first run in with the Relaxers (aka Creamy Crack) at age 7.  An Uncle put it on my hair one day while my mother was away.  Boy oh boy she was mad.  At the time my hair was natural and down my back.  After the relaxer my hair quickly broke off and simply touched my shoulders.  She didn’t give me another relaxer until I was maybe 14 when I started posing for pics and what not.  Before that I was just wearing braids and getting it pressed.  I only got relaxers every 6 months but it was still enough to break all my hair off.

My last relaxer, the summer of 2008 was SO bad!  I had crazy chemical burn.  Burned my hairline right off.  It’s been two years and it still hasn’t grown in all the way.  I decided that day that I would NEVER relax my hair again. That was the last one.  I cut my hair into a tapered bob and let the transition begin!

Pulled into a drawstring ponytail. As usual.

Transitioning sucked!  If I had the chance to do it over again, I would have just cut it all off and let it grow.  I think I experienced more breakage from transitioning then I would have if I just cut it all off.

With very little life and wearing ponytails all the time….

Always straight ponytails until my curls started to poke through… Then I made the change to textured ponytails. My favorite being the what I called the Blowout!  lol.  Looks like hair that could have easily grown from my own roots.

The BLOWOUT! My favorite Ponytail!

I transitioned for a grueling 10 months and finally on May 11th, 2009 I cut my hair off!

I went from short thin and brittle hair that was being controlled and contained with crazy amounts of hair gel, scrunchies and drawstring ponytails to wearing the hair that I grew.  With my natural curls!  I couldn’t keep my hands out of it!

Check those curls!

Look at that texture!  I couldn’t believe it!  I went to a natural hair salon in Kansas City, Missouri to get the BC done.  Not only did I get my hair chopped off, but my Mother went all natural as well!  🙂

The lady that did the cutting… well, she didn’t do the best work, but I maintained.  I was in great need of another cut but I couldn’t stomach another haircut for awhile.  LOL.  So, I let it grow (unevenly) for 10 months and got it cut a second time.  This time, 3 inches!  That to me felt like a second big chop!

It’s grown much better now!  Especially since I’ve been using better products on my hair.  I think it’s time for a before and after!

I try to do a photo shoot in honor of my hair.   Helps me document the changes it goes through.  I can’t remember every time I take a cell phone pic, but photo shoots… I remember them all.  SO… To let you see the side by sides of the changes of my hair.. I will post two pictures.  One from August of 2009, and one from the last month.  Ready… Set…. GO!

Aug 2009. 4 months natural

July 2010. 1 year natural!!!

CHECK THAT BEFORE AND AFTER!  LOL.  I hit a few snags here in there.  Got 3 inches cut from my curls a few months ago in March.  But it’s coming along quite nicely if I do say so myself.  I’m a little bias though I guess.  LOL.  It’s long enough to pull into a ponytail (when it’s straight).  I can’t wait till I can pull it all back while it’s curly. 🙂  Until then… I’m still rocking the headbands and puffs. 😛

And there you have it… The hair story of Samantha!  🙂

Sorry it was soooooo long!

4 Responses to “So I said I’d talk about my Natural Hair.”


  1. 1 Y
    July 30, 2010 at 5:43 am

    I looove it. Looks great. I finally chopped off my relaxed ends in May, after transitioning for a year. I have to agree with you on the transitioning. I used a flat iron to maintain my hair and it really did a number on my strands. Just today I came across a split-end about an inch long. I wish I would have just cut everything after a few months rather than waiting a year to cut it. would have saved a lot of hair

  2. July 31, 2010 at 11:00 pm

    @Y
    totally! I guess I was just having security issues.

  3. 3 kitsunefirepaws
    August 3, 2010 at 9:42 am

    Wow, the difference really is apparent when you put the before and after pics right by each other. Keep up the good work!

  4. August 4, 2010 at 10:30 pm

    🙂 @rachel, THANK YOU! hehe.. Yea, I didn’t really see the growth until I saw it this way. LOL.


Leave a Reply

